6th Annual Conference of the EPIP Association
Fine-Tuning IPR debates

Université libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium
September 8-9, 2011

The EPIP (European Policy for Intellectual Property) association will hold its 6th Annual Conference on September 8-9, 2011 in Brussels (Belgium). Scholars and practitioners interested in the economic, legal, political and managerial aspects of intellectual property rights are encouraged to attend the conference with or without scientific paper presentation.

As for the previous conferences (Munich, Lund, Berne, Bologna, Maastricht), the 2011 EPIP Annual Conference will address topics of general interest in the area of intellectual property rights (IPRs) policies. Priority will be given to scientific research that contributes to “fine-tune” IPR debates. Each plenary and parallel session will be centered on an IPR debate, such as:

  1. IPR litigation and enforcement, what costs and which best practices?
  2. Standard setting and IPRs: optimal timing and the role of government
  3. Should universities outsource the management of their patent portfolio?
  4. Economic/financial valuation of IPRs: methodological and practical challenges
  5. Do markets for IPRs really work?   
  6. IPRs, entrepreneurship and growth: is there a causal relationship?
  7. Open innovation, new business models and the role of IPRs
  8. On the patentability of sensitive subject matter (BMs, software, genes, plant varieties)
  9. Digital rights, database protection and moral rights
  10. How much quality do we need in IPR systems?
  11. In search for the next generation of IP-based indicators

Parallel and keynote sessions will aim at mixing scholars from various disciplines (law, economics, sociology, and political sciences).

Academic Keynote Speakers will include:

  • Prof. Philippe AGHION, Harvard University, USA
  • Prof. Tania BUBELA, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Prof. Graham DUTFIELD, University of Leeds, UK
  • Prof. Alfonso GAMBARDELLA, Bocconi University, Italy
  • Prof. Petra MOSER, Stanford University, USA
  • Prof. Pamela SAMUELSON, UC Berkeley, USA
  • Prof. Joseph STRAUS, Max Planck Institute, Germany and George Washington Un.. & Stanford Un., USA
  • Prof. Nicolas VAN ZEEBROECK, Université libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
  • Prof. Michel VIVANT, Science Po Paris, France
  • Prof. Beth WEBSTER, University of Melbourne, IPRIA, Australia

Keynote Speakers and Panel Members from public and private institutions will include:

  • Dr. Frédéric CAILLAUD, Licensing & Business Development International Director, L'Oréal, France
  • Trevor COOK, Bird & Bird, Partner; President of the AIPPI-UK, United Kingdom
  • Dr. Carsten FINK, World Intellectual Property Office, Chief Economist, Switzerland
  • Margot FRÖHLINGER, EC, Director in DG Markt, responsible for the knowledge based economy, Belgium
  • Prof. Michel GOLDMAN, IMI (Innovative Medicine Initiative), Managing Director, EU, Belgium
  • Prof. Stuart GRAHAM, US Patent and Trademark Office, Chief Economist, USA
  • Dominique GUELLEC, OECD-DSTI, Head of Unit, France
  • Simon HAMPTON, Google, Director of European Public Policy, Belgium
  • Dr. Robert KISS, ULB, FNRS Res. Director, Toxicology Lab; CSO ONCOBEL (ULB spin off), Belgium
  • Michael KOCK, Syngenta, Global Head IP - Seeds and Biotechnology, Switzerland
  • Prof. Muriel MOSER, ULB, FNRS Research Director; Director of the Immunobiology Lab, IBMM, Belgium
  • Gerard PANNEKOEK, President and CEO, IPX International Holdings, LLC, USA
  • Dr. Vincent RYCKAERT, IMEC, IP Business Director, Belgium
  • Jean-François SERRIER, Solvay SA, Exec. Vice President, General Manager Intellectual Assets, Belgium
  • Dr. Nikolaus THUMM, European Patent Office, Chief Economist, Germany

Panel members of the "TTO Arena", parallel session on TTO best practices:

  • Gabriel CLERC, Service des Relations Industrielles, EPFL, Senior Licensing Officer, Switzerland
  • Dr. Tim COOK, ISIS Oxford University, non-executive Director, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Karl KLINGSHEIM, NTNO Technology Transfer, Managing Director, Norway
  • Dr. Carol MIMURA, Asst. Vice Chancellor for IP & Industry Research Alliances, UC Berkeley, USA
  • Paul VAN DUN, Director of LRD (Leuven Research and Development), KUL, Belgium

International Scientific Committee includes:

  • Prof. Stefan BECHTOLD, ETH Zurich, SwitzerlandProf. Paul BELLEFLAMME, Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL), Belgium
  • Prof. Knut BLIND, Technische Universitat, Berlin, Germany
  • Prof. Paul A. DAVID, Stanford University, USATelecom-Paris Tech and Ec. Polytec., France
  • Prof. Dominique FORAY, CDM, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Prof. Dominique GUELLEC, OECD, France
  • Prof. Bronwyn HALL, UC Berkeley, USA, University of Maastricht, Netherlands
  • Prof. Reto M. HILTY, Max Planck Institute for IP, Comp. and Tax Law; U of Munich & Zurich
  • Prof. Peter LOTZ, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
  • Prof. Ingrid SCHNEIDER, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Prof. Salvatore TORRISI, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Prof. Grid THOMA, University of Camerino, Italy
  • Prof. Geertrui VAN OVERWALLE, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL), Belgium
  • Prof. Robert PITKETHLY, Oxford University, Saïd Business School, The United Kingdom
  • Prof. Xavier VENCE, Universidad Santiago de Compostella, Spain
  • Prof. Patrick WAELBROECK, TELECOM ParisTech, France

Local Scientific Committee:

  • Prof. Alain BERENBOOM, ULB (LAW Faculty)
  • Prof. Michele CINCERA, ULB (SBS-EM, DULBEA)
  • Prof. François DUBUISSON, ULB (LAW Faculty)
  • Prof. Patrick LEGROS, ULB (SBS-EM, ECARES
  • Prof. Jean-Frédéric MORIN, ULB (FSP, Political Sciences)
  • Prof. Carine PEETERS, ULB (SBS-EM, CEB)
  • Prof. Andrée PUTTEMANS, ULB (LAW Faculty)

Organisation Committee (ULB, SBS-EM):

  • Meltem CALISKAN
  • Jérôme DANGUY
  • Catherine DUVERGER
  • Malwina MEJER

Submission procedure for scientific papers

Submission is closed

All proposals must include the title of the paper, keywords, the authors’ names and affiliations, full address, phone and e-mail address and an abstract of approximately 1,000 words. 

Conference fees for academics

Early bird conference fee→ until July 31, 2011200 €

Student fee → until July 31, 2011                        100 €

Normal conference fee→ after July 31, 2011250 €

Conference fees for non academics

Early bird conference fee→ until July 31, 2011300 €

Normal conference fee→ after July 31, 2011400 €

Fees include the participation to the conference, access to all submitted electronic papers, four coffee breaks, two lunches and one dinner (evening of the 8th of September).

Time Schedule for submission of scientific papers and registration

Deadline for abstract submission   May 30, 2011

Opening of registration       June 1, 2011

Notification of paper acceptance    June 20, 2011

End of early bird registration     July 31, 2011

End of registration  September 1, 2011

Full paper submission   September 1, 2011


Time Schedule for registration

Opening of registration  June 1, 2011

End of early bird registration     July 31, 2011

End of normal registration    September 1, 2011


Additional information for authors with accepted papers

In order for your paper to be included in the program, at least one of the authors must have registered to the conference by July 31, 2011.

Each participant will only be allowed to present one paper during the conference. Co-authored papers may be presented by any of the participating co-authors.

For more information do not hesitate to contact epip2011@ulb.ac.be