3rd Annual Conference of the EPIP Association

Bern – Switzerland
October 3-4, 2008


As for the previous conferences (2006 in Münich and 2007 in Lund), the 2008 EPIP Annual Conference will address topics of general interest in the area of IPR, such as:

  • National and European legal regime’s evolution
  • Incentives and organisation of patent offices
  • IPR litigation and enforcement
  • University patenting
  • Patents in new technological fields
  • The governance of IPR systems
  • The impact of IPR on competition and innovation
  • The new methods and tool for the management of intellectual assets.

Because of the close geographical proximity of the conference location to WIPO, WTO, WHO and UNCTAD (all based in Geneva), emphasis will be given to the challenges encountered by developing countries in the context of the TRIPS (trade related aspects of intellectual property rights) regime.

Scholars and practitioners interested in the economic, legal and management aspects of intellectual property rights are encouraged to attend the conference with or without paper presentation.

Invited Speakers

  • Ashish ARORA – Carnegie Mellon University
  • James E. BESSEN – Boston University
  • Alison BRIMELOW – European Patent Office
  • Roland GROSSENBACHER – Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property
  • (tbc) Francis GURRY – World Intellectual Property Organisation
  • Reto M. HILTY – Max Planck Institute for Intellectual Property
  • Ciaran McGINLEY – European Patent Office
  • Mark SCHANKERMAN – London School of Economics

Scientific Committee

  • Susana BORRÁS – Copenhagen Business School
  • Paul A. DAVID – Stanford University/Oxford University, California
  • Dominique FORAY – Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Alfonso GAMBARDELLA – Università Bocconi
  • Rachel S. GRIFFITH – IFS and University College London
  • Dominique GUELLEC – OECD
  • Bronwyn H. HALL – University of California at Berkeley/University of Maastricht
  • Dietmar HARHOFF – Ludwig-Maximilians Unversität München
  • Reto M. HILTY – Max Planck Institute for Intellectual Property
  • Brian G. KAHIN – University of Michigan
  • Peter LOTZ – Copenhagen Business School
  • Jacques MAIRESSE – CREST-ENSAE/University of Maastricht
  • Pierre MOHNEN – University of Maastricht
  • Geertrui VAN OVERWALLE – K.U. Leuven
  • Bruno VAN POTTELSBERGHE – Université Libre de Bruxelles
  • Xavier VENCE – Universidad Santiago de Compostela
  • Reinhilde VEUGELERS – K.U. Leuven
  • Bertrand WARUSFEL – Université de Lille II

Conference Fees

Early bird conference fee - until July 15: CHF 170
Normal conference fee - from July 15 to August 31: CHF 250


Time Schedule

Opening of registration:June 20, 2008

End of early bird registration:July 15, 2008

End of registration:August 31, 2008

Full paper submission:September 15, 2008

Additional information for authors with accepted papers

Each participant will only be allowed to present one paper during the conference. Co-authored papers may be presented by any of the participating co-authors.


EPFL Chair of Economics and Management of Innovation, Lausanne, Switzerland

  • Dominique FORAY

More information